DEVON RUGBY county team news

Devon Rugby number oneDevon are set to secure a place at Twickenham and promotion back to the top tier of county rugby when they take on Kent at Medway RFC today 1500ko.

The Greens and Whites sit top of Bill Beaumont Cup Division Two South with a maximum 10 points out of 10 after beating North Midlands 50-18 away and Somerset 39-10 at home.

A point in today’s final group match should be enough for Devon to finish top of the pool.

Kent are the only team that can overtake the green and whites but are four points behind and their points difference is 50 less than Devon’s.

"We need one point to get to Twickenham, but we will be going there to win,” said Devon coach Dan Parkes. “We are not going to go there just trying to get a point off them."

Devon are unable to call on Barnstaple players as the newly promoted national league club have an event.

Player-coach Steve Perry, who was a try scorer when Devon won the County Championship title in 2004, is one of those who will be missing the weekend.

Perry is hoping the team can get the result they want in his absence.

“I think the lads have got a lot of confidence out of the first two games,” said Perry. “They just have to take that confidence, energy and enthusiasm into this weekend and concentrate on performance and just see what happens.

“I have seen a video of Kent and they look a good side. It should be a good contest.”

To be so close to reaching Twickenham is exciting, but the Devon coaches are hoping the players do not lose focus.

“If you’ve never played at Twickenham before then it is a phenomenal experience,” said Perry.

“If the team focus on performance and bring energy, hopefully, the result will happen. But we don’t know what Kent will produce on Saturday.”

Devon starting 15 Dan Powell (Exmouth RFC)

14 Tom Goodman (Brixham RFC)

13 Lewis Paterson (Ivybridge RFC)

12 Mark Wathes (Exmouth RFC)

11 Ollie Rice (Exmouth RFC)

10 George Meadows (Exmouth RFC)

9 Matt Ryan (Exmouth RFC)

1 Issac Dalton (Exmouth RFC)

2 Dean Avery (Newton Abbot RFC)

3 Nigel Berry (Exmouth RFC)

4 Adam Thomas (capt, Brixham RFC)

5 Jack Fahy (Exmouth RFC)

6 Alex Smith (Newton Abbot RFC)

7 Wayne Sprangle (Tiverton RFC)

8 Sam Thomas (Brixham RFC)

Ready on the bench

16 Chey Bryce (Brixham RFC)

17 Matt Dowrick (Newton Abbot RFC)

18 Dom Loomes (Ivybridge RFC)

19 James Harris (Exmouth RFC)

20 Tom Scoles (Ivybridge RFC)

21 James Mattin (Exmouth RFC)

22 Tom McLean (Brixham RFC)

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.