CYCLING Tour of Britain heading back to South West

cycling tour of britain logoAfter a year’s absence the OVO Energy Tour of Britain makes a welcome return to South West England in September. 

The hugely popular national cycling tour makes its 10th visit to Devon in 12 years on Monday September 3 and a welcome return to cycling hub Bristol on Tuesday September 4.

The 2018 second stage will start in the UK’s newest town – Cranbrook – and finish in Barnstaple following a hilly finale along the North Devon coast that includes the one-kilometre, 13% average gradient climb of Challacombe, near Woolacombe.

Bristol will host the third stage of the race, a short, sharp out-and-back leg into the north Somerset hills that includes Cheddar Gorge.

The finish on the Clifton Down is the same one as used by the race in 2014 and 2016, where Michal Kwiatkowski, Tony Martin and Rohan Dennis have taken victories.

Stage One on Sunday September 2 will see the modern Tour visit Carmarthenshire for the first time, as the race gets underway at Pembrey Country Park.
Riders will pass through Carmarthen, Brecon and Usk before the stage finish in the city of Newport. 

Riders will tackle the 800-metre, 9% average gradient climb of Belmont Hill on the outskirts of Newport inside the final 10 kilometres of racing.

  • Stage One - Sunday 2 September - Pembrey Country Park to Newport, 175km
  • Stage Two - Monday 3 September - Cranbrook to Barnstaple, 174km
  • Stage Three - Tuesday 4 September - Bristol to Bristol, 125km
  • Stage Four - Wednesday 5 September - Nuneaton to Royal Leamington Spa, 183km
  • Stage Five - Thursday 6 September - Cockermouth to Whinlatter Pass, Team Time Trial, 14km
  • Stage Six - Friday 7 September - Barrow-in-Furness to Whinlatter Pass, 169km
  • Stage Seven - Saturday 8 September - West Bridgford to Mansfield, 223km
  • Stage Eight - Sunday 9 September - The London Stage, 77km

 

 

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.