Exeter Chiefs trio recalled for Calcutta Cup clash

Exeter Chiefs England ace Henry Slade picture courtesy of Exeter ChiefsEngland head coach Eddie Jones has recalled Exeter Chiefs Jack Nowell, Henry Slade and Ben Mood for today's crucial Six Nations Calcutta Cup clash against Scotland at Twickenham Stadium (1700ko, ITV).

There are four changes to the England XV who started the 57-14 thrashing of Italy. In the backs, Cornishman Nowell replaces Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby) on the right wing and Devonian Slade (pictured) replaces Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors) at outside centre.

Moon swaps with Bristol-born Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers) in the front row while Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) comes in for Brad Shields (Wasps) who is named as a finisher. Genge and Cornish born Chief Luke Cowan-Dickie start on the bench among the finishers.

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) is set for his 85th cap and will become England’s most capped scrum half of all time moving ahead of Danny Care (Harlequins).

Jones says: “It is the last week of the tournament so it’s exciting. It will be a fascinating finish to the Championship with three teams that can win it and we are playing against one of our most traditional foes in Scotland for the Calcutta Cup. We have had a good preparation and the side is going to be in a great state to play on Saturday.

“Scotland is a difficult side, they are always at you, they play with a lot of enthusiasm and effort and have got a lot of attacking strings to their bow. Finn Russell is an exceptional player at 10 and they have got some pace on the outside so we are going to have to defend really well against them.”

On Ben Youngs’ record he added: “It is a fantastic achievement, it takes a lot of dedication and hard work and something he and his family will be really proud of. I am sure he will do the shirt great justice out there on Saturday.”

England starting XV (523 caps)
15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 29 caps)
14 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 32 caps)
13 Henry Slade (picture courtesy Exeter Chiefs, 21 caps)
12 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 31 caps)
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 44 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 69 caps) (captain)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 84 caps)

1 Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 36 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 21 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 57 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 31 caps)
6 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 12 caps)
7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 9 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 40 caps)

Finishers (203 caps)
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 10 caps)
17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 8 caps)
18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 84 caps)
19 Brad Shields (Wasps, 7 caps)
20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 21 caps)
21 Ben Spencer (Saracens, 2 caps)
22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 54 caps)
23 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors 17 caps)

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok